[om-a] 3rd CFP ASCM03

Ziming Li z6li at scg.math.uwaterloo.ca
Fri Sep 6 10:26:00 CEST 2002

                Third Announcement and Call for Papers

    The Sixth Asian Symposium on Computer Mathematics (ASCM 2003)

                     Beijing, April 17 - 19, 2003

  *                                                               *
  *     Deadline for Submission Extended: September 17, 2002      *
  *                                                               *
  *  Funds available for graduate students to attend ASCM 2003    *
  *                                                               *
  *  A satellite workshop on Geometric Constraint Solving is      * 
  *  being organized. Please contact Xiaoshan Gao                 *
  *  (xgao at mmrc.iss.ac.cn) if you are interested.                 *

The Asian Symposium on Computer Mathematics (ASCM) is a series of
conferences that offer an opportunity for participants to present
original research, to learn of research progress and new developments,
and to exchange ideas and views on doing mathematics using computers.
ASCM 2003 will provide an international forum for researchers to
review the current state of the art and trends on computer
mathematics.  The symposium will consist of plenary sessions by
invited speakers, regular sessions of contributed papers, and software
demonstrations.  Further information on previous ASCM symposia and
ASCM 2003 may be found at


Registration fee for ASCM2003 will be $200 (USD), which is the same
as previous ASCMs. The registration fee covers the conference
proceedings, all meals, the reception party, the conference banquet,
and a sightseeing tour to the Great Wall.

  Christoph Hoffmann (Purdue University, USA)
  Josef Schicho  (RISC, Linz, Austria)
  Nobuki Takayama (Kobe University, Japan)

Research papers on all aspects of the interaction between computers
and mathematics are solicited for the symposium.  Specific topics
include but are not limited to:
   *  Symbolic, algebraic, and geometric computation
   *  Automated mathematical reasoning
   *  Computer-aided problem solving and instruction
   *  Computational algebra and geometry
   *  Computational methods for differential equation
   *  Symbolic/numeric hybrid methods
   *  Parallel/distributed/network computing
   *  Mathematical software design and implementation
   *  Applications in CAGD/CAD, robotics, and computer vision

Papers should be written in English, in single column, not exceeding
10 pages, and a main text font no smaller than 10 pt.  Authors are
encouraged to submit their papers by electronic mail (in postscript,
or pdf formats) to both of the Program Committee Co-Chairs:

     Ziming Li,        Email: z6li at scg.math.uwaterloo.ca
     William Y. Sit    Email: wyscc at cunyvm.cuny.edu.

The first page of each paper should contain its title, author(s) with
affiliation(s) and e-mail address(es), and an abstract. All submitted
papers will undergo a standard review process and the selection of
papers by the program committee will be based on originality,
significance of contribution, and presentation.

The Proceedings of ASCM'2003 will be published as a volume in the
Lecture Notes Series on Computing by World Scientific Publication Co.,
Inc., Singapore/River Edge, USA, and will be available at the
symposium.  Authors should visit the ASCM 2003 official web site for
further information on formatting requirements.  Final manuscripts
should include the source files in LaTeX 2e, as well as any other
files necessary for compilation.


Limited funds and partial support will be available for graduate
students to attend the conference. Please visit the official website
for further information.

     September 17, 2002:   Deadline for submission of papers
     November  30, 2002:   Notification of acceptance
     December  31, 2002:   Deadline for camera-ready copy
     Feb        1, 2003:   Deadline for support applications
     Feb       15, 2003:   Notification of support approval


General Chair: Wen-Tsun Wu (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Program Committee:

Falai Chen,             Gouting Chen,           Shang-Ching Chou,
Ding-Zhu Du,            Xiao-Shan Gao,          George Havas,
Hoon Hong,              Jie Hsiang,             Deepak Kapur,
Wen-Shin Lee,           Hongbo Li,              Ziming Li (co-chair)
Matu-Tarow Noda,        Masayuki Noro,          Hong Qin,
Yosuke Sato,            Kiyoshi Shirayanagi,    William Sit (co-chair)
Nobuki Takayama,        Dongming Wang,          Paul S. Wang,
Wenping Wang,           Lu Yang,                Kasuhiro
Yokoyama Lihong Zhi.

Local Organization Committee:

Xiao-Shan Gao (chair),   Dingkang Wang,    Daizhen Zhou.

For questions about the local organization of the
conference, please send email to xgao at mmrc.iss.ac.cn.

om-announce at openmath.org  -  public announcements concerning OpenMath
Post discussion to om at openmath.org
Automatic list maintenance software at majordomo at openmath.org
Mail om-announce-owner at openmath.org for assistance with any problems

More information about the Om-announce mailing list