[Om-announce] CFP MEMOCODE 2009

Memocode 2009 memocode2009 at gmail.com
Mon Sep 15 10:09:34 CEST 2008

[apologies for multople copies.]

     Seventh ACM-IEEE International Conference on
  Formal Methods and Models for Codesign (MEMOCODE)
    13-15 July 2009, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

The seventh MEMOCODE conference will gather researchers and
practitioners who create methods, tools, and architectures for
hardware/software systems.  Modern design faces increased design
complexities in combination with tightening implementation
constraints.  This requires new techniques to create, refine, and
verify hardware/software systems.  MEMOCODE seeks submissions that
present novel formal methods and design techniques to address this
design problem.  We also invite application-oriented papers, and
especially encourage submissions that highlight the design perspective
of formal methods and models, including success stories and
demonstrations of hardware/software codesign.  Furthermore, we invite
poster presentations describing ongoing work with promising
preliminary results.

Submission topics include, but are not limited to

1. System-level modeling and verification, abstraction and refinement
   between different modeling levels, formal, semi-formal, and
   specification-driven verification on the system
   level. Transaction-level modeling.

2. Design and verification methods for composition of concurrent
   systems: Multi-core architectures, networks-on-chip.

3. Non-traditional and domain-specific design languages for hardware
   and software, novel models of computation, and new design paradigms
   that unify hardware and software design.

4. System-level estimation of performance and power in heterogeneous
   hardware/software architectures.

5. Applications and demonstrators of formal design methodologies and
   case studies of innovative system-level design flows.

6. Modeling and reuse of intellectual property at system-level.

   Paper submission                 20 February 2009
   Notification of acceptance        8 May 2009
   Poster submission                15 May 2009
   Notification for posters         29 May 2009
   Final Version of Papers          29 May 2009


MEMOCODE will again have a design contest.  The contest will start 1
March 2009.  The deadline for submission is 31 March 2009 and the
notification of the results is on 8 May 2009.  The conference will
sponsor at least two prize categories, each with a significant cash
award.  We awarded a $1000 prize in each of the three categories in
2008.  Each team that submits a complete and working entry will be
invited to submit for review a 2-page abstract for the formal
conference proceedings; prize winning teams will be invited to
contribute a 4-page short paper.  Please refer to the conference
website for more information and updates.

Conference proceedings will be published by the IEEE Computer Society.
The best papers will be considered for a special issues of a major


Submissions of research and experience papers will only be accepted
through the conference web site.  Papers must not exceed 10 pages and
must be formatted following IEEE Computer Society guidelines.
Submissions must be written in English, describe original work, and
not substantially overlap papers that have been published or are being
submitted to a journal or another conference with published
proceedings.  Posters submissions should consist of an abstract of at
most 250 words.  The abstract will be distributed to the conference
attendants, but will not be published.  Note that the poster deadline
is different from the paper deadline.


General chairs: Rajesh Gupta and James C. Hoe
Design contest chairs: Forrest Brewer and James C. Hoe
Local chair: Sally Lee
Program committee chairs: Roderick Bloem and Patrick Schaumont


Clark Barrett         New York University
Twan Basten           Eindhoven University of Technology
Tevfik Bultan         University of California, Santa Barbara
Luca Carloni          Columbia University
Rainer Doemer         University of California, Irvine
Robert de Simone      INRIA
Rolf Drechsler        University of Bremen
Stephen A. Edwards    Columbia Univeristy
Franco Fummi          University of Verona
David Hwang           George Mason University
Ganesh Gopalakrishnan University of Utah
Barbara Jobstmann     EPFL
Daniel Kroening       Oxford University
Luciano Lavagno       Politecnico di Torino
Elizabeth Leonard     NRL
John O'Leary          Intel
Klaus Schneider       University of Kaiserslautern
Satnam Singh          Microsoft Research
Frank Vahid           University of California, Riverside
Kazutoshi Wakabayashi NEC
Reinhard Wilhelm      Saarland University
Fei Xie               Portland State University

More information about the Om-announce mailing list