[Om-announce] New Deadline: June 8

RV 2010 publicity at rv2010.org
Fri May 21 07:59:44 CEST 2010

                           FINAL CALL FOR PAPERS

     *** Deadline extension for regular and short papers : June 8 ***
       International Conference on Runtime Verification (RV 2010)
                       November 1 - 4, 2010
                           Sliema, Malta


Runtime verification (RV) is concerned with monitoring and analysis of
software or hardware system executions.  The field is often referred to
under different names, such as runtime verification, runtime monitoring,
runtime checking, runtime reflection, runtime analysis, dynamic
analysis, symbolic dynamic analysis, trace analysis, log file analysis,
etc.  RV can be used for many purposes, such as program understanding,
systems usage understanding, security or safety policy monitoring,
debugging, testing, verification and validation, fault protection,
behavior modification (e.g., recovery), etc.  A running system can be
abstractly regarded as a generator of execution traces, i.e., sequences
of relevant states or events.  Traces can be processed in various ways,
e.g., checked against formalized specifications, analyzed with special
algorithms, visualized, etc.  Topics of interest include, but are not
limited to:

- program instrumentation techniques
- specification languages for writing monitors
- extraction of monitors from specifications;  APIs for writing monitors
- programming language constructs for monitoring
- model-based monitoring and reconfiguration
- the use of aspect oriented programming for dynamic analysis
- algorithmic solutions to minimize runtime monitoring impact
- combination of static and dynamic analysis;  full program verification
  based on runtime verification
- intrusion detection, security policies, policy enforcement
- log file analysis
- model-based test oracles
- observation-based debugging techniques
- fault detection and recovery, model-based integrated health management
  and diagnosis
- program steering and adaptation
- dynamic concurrency analysis
- dynamic specification mining
- metrics and statistical information gathered during runtime
- program execution visualization

The  RV  series  of events started in 2001,  as an annual workshop.  The
RV'01 to RV'05 proceedings were published in ENTCS.  Since 2006,  the RV
proceedings have been published in LNCS.  Starting with year 2010, RV is
an  international  conference.  Links  to past RV events can be found at
the permanent URL http://runtime-verification.org.


* Mike Barnett, Microsoft Research, USA
* Rance Cleaveland, University of Maryland, USA
* Matthew Dwyer, University of Nebraska, USA
* Martin Odersky, EPFL, Switzerland
* Wim de Pauw, IBM, USA
* R. Sekar, Stony Brook University, USA

Talk titles are available on RV 2010 web page.


RV  will  have two research paper categories:  regular and short papers.
Papers  in  both  categories  will be reviewed by the conference Program

- Regular papers (up to 15 pages) should present original unpublished
  results.  Applications of runtime verification are particularly
  welcome.  A Best Paper Award (300 Euro) will be offered.  Selected
  papers will be published in an issue of Formal Methods in System

- Short papers (up to 5 pages) may present novel but not necessarily
  thoroughly worked out ideas, for example emerging runtime verification
  techniques and applications, or techniques and applications that
  establish relationships between runtime verification and other
  domains.  Accepted short papers will be presented in special short
  talk (5-10 minutes) and poster sessions.

In addition to short and regular papers, proposals for tutorials and
tool demonstrations are welcome.  Proposals should be up to 2 pages

- Tutorial proposals on any of the topics above, as well as on topics at
  the boundary between RV and other domains, are welcome.  Accepted
  tutorials will be allocated up to 15 pages in the conference
  proceedings.  Tutorial presentations will be at least 2 hours.

- Tool demonstration proposals should briefly introduce the problem
  solved by the tool and give the outline of the demonstration.  Tool
  papers will be allocated 5 pages in the conference proceedings.
  A Best Tool Award (200 Euro) will be offered.

Submitted tutorial and tool demonstration proposals will be evaluated by
the corresponding chairs, with the help of selected reviewers.

All accepted papers, including tutorial and tool papers, will appear in
the LNCS proceedings.  Submitted  papers must use the LNCS style.  At
least one author of each accepted paper must attend RV'10 to present the
paper.  Papers must be submitted  electronically using the EasyChair
system.  A link to the electronic submission page is available on the
RV'10 web page.


June 8, 2010 - Submission of regular and short papers (*** extended ***)
June 15, 2010 - Submission of tool demonstration proposals 
July 13, 2010 - Notification for regular, short, and tool papers
August 17, 2010 - Camera-ready versions of accepted papers are due  


General chairs:
Howard Barringer (University of Manchester, UK)
Klaus Havelund (NASA/JPL, USA)
Insup Lee (University of Pennsylvania, USA)

Programme committee chairs:
Grigore Rosu (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
Oleg Sokolsky (University of Pennsylvania, USA)

Local organization chair:
Gordon Pace (University of Malta, MT)

Tutorials chair:
Bernd Finkbeiner (Saarland University, DE)

Tool demonstrations chair:
Nikolai Tillmann (Microsoft Research, USA)

Publicity chair:
Ylies Falcone (INRIA Rennes, FR)


Jamie Andrews (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
Thomas Ball (Microsoft Research Redmond, USA)
Saddek Bensalem (Verimag, France)
Eric Bodden (Technical University Darmstadt, Germany)
Rance Cleaveland (University of Maryland, USA)
Mads Dam (KTH, SE)
Matthew Dwyer (University of Nebraska, USA)
Bernd Finkbeiner (Saarland University, Germany)
Cormac Flanagan (University of California at Santa Cruz, USA)
Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Cachan, France)
Patrice Godefroid (Microsoft Research Redmond, USA)
Susanne Graf (Verimag, France)
Radu Grosu (State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA)
Lars Grunske (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
Rajiv Gupta (University of California at Riverside, USA)
John Hatcliff (Kansas State University, USA)
Mats Heimdahl (University of Minnesota, USA)
Sarfraz Khurshid (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
Kim Larsen (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Martin Leucker (Technical University Muenchen, Germany)
Paul Miner (NASA Langley, USA)
Greg Morrisett (Harvard University, USA)
Brian Nielsen (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Klaus Ostermann (University of Marburg, Germany)
Corina Pasareanu (NASA Ames, USA)
Doron Peled (Bar Ilan University, Israel)
Martin Rinard (Massachussets Institute of Technology, USA)
Grigore Rosu (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) (co-chair)
Wolfram Schulte Microsoft Research Redmond, USA)
Koushik Sen (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
Peter Sestoft (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
Scott Smolka (State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA)
Oleg Sokolsky (University of Pennsylvania, USA) (co-chair)
Serdar Tasiran (Koc University, Turkey)
Shmuel Ur (IBM Haifa Research Laboratory, Israel)
Willem Visser (University of Stellenbosch, South Africa)
Mahesh Viswanathan (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) 
Brian Williams (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)

More information about the Om-announce mailing list