[Om-announce] DBSec'14 - Deadline extended to March 10, 2014

Giovanni Livraga giovanni.livraga at unimi.it
Wed Feb 26 19:25:11 CET 2014

[Apologies if you receive multiple copies of this message]

*** Deadline extended to March 10, 2014 ***

28th Annual IFIP WG 11.3 Working Conference on Data and
Applications Security and Privacy (DBSec'14)


Vienna Technical University, Vienna, Austria, July 14-16, 2014

The 28th Annual IFIP WG 11.3 Working Conference on Data and
Applications Security and Privacy provides a forum for presenting
original unpublished research results, practical experiences, and
innovative ideas in data and applications security and
privacy. Papers and panel proposals are also solicited.

Papers may present theory, techniques, applications, or practical
experience on topics of relevance to IFIP WG 11.3: 

- access control
- anonymity
- applied cryptography in data security
- authentication
- crowdsourcing for privacy and security
- data and system integrity
- data protection
- database security
- digital rights management
- identity management
- knowledge discovery and privacy
- methodologies for data and application security and privacy
- network security
- organizational security
- privacy
- secure cloud computing
- secure distributed systems
- secure information integration
- secure Web services
- security and privacy in IT outsourcing
- security and privacy in location-based services
- security and privacy in P2P scenarios and social networks
- security and privacy in pervasive/ubiquitous computing
- security and privacy policies
- security management
- security metrics
- threats, vulnerabilities, and risk management
- trust and reputation systems
- trust management
- wireless and mobile security

Additional topics of interest include (but are not limited to):
Critical Infrastructure Protection, Cyber Terrorism, Information
Warfare, Database Forensics, Electronic Commerce Security, and
Security in Digital Health Care. 

Paper submissions 
Authors are invited to submit their contributions electronically
through the conference web site at
http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=dbsec2014. Submission
must be in the form of a PDF file. Manuscripts must be in
English, typed in 11-point font, and must not be more than 16
pages long. Manuscripts must have a cover page with title, names
and addresses (including e-mail address) of authors, an abstract,
and a set of keywords. At least one author of each accepted paper
is required to register with the conference and present the
paper. Accepted papers will be published in the conference
proceedings (published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in
Computer Science series). The final copy of a paper must be laid
out according to the Camera Ready Copy format required by
Springer. Author instructions can be found at

Outstanding papers will be invited for possible publication in 
the Journal of Computer Security.

Duplicate Submission Policy 
A submitted paper must not be under review for inclusion in any
other conference or journal, and must be substantially different
from previously published work. Duplicate submissions will be
automatically rejected and without review.

Panel proposals
Proposals for panels should be e-mailed to the PC chairs
(atluri at andromeda.rutgers.edu) and
guenther.pernul at wiwi.uni-regensburg.de). Proposals should include 
a one-page description of the subject matter, the name and
address (including e-mail address) of the organizer, and a list
of proposed panelists.

There will be an award for the best paper and for the best
student paper.  To be eligible as a student paper, a paper must
have a student as first author.

Important dates
Paper submission due: March 10, 2014 [extended]
Notification to authors: April 21, 2014
Camera ready due: April 30, 2014

Conference Organization
General Chairs:
Pierangela Samarati, Universita degli Studi di Milano
Edgar Weippl, SBA Research, Vienna University of Technology

Program Committee Chairs:
Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University
Guenther Pernul, Universität Regensburg

IFIP WG 11.3 Chair:
Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati, Universita degli Studi di Milano

Publicity Chair:
Giovanni Livraga, Universita degli Studi di Milano

Local Arrangement Chair:
Yvonne Poul, SBA Research, Vienna University of Technology

Program Committee
Gail-Joon Ahn, Arizona State University
Claudio Agostino Ardagna, Universita’ degli Studi di Milano
Joachim Biskup, Technische Universität Dortmund
Marina Blanton, University of Notre Dame
David Chadwick, University of Kent
Soon Ae Chun, CUNY
Frédéric Cuppens, Telecom Bretagne
Nora Cuppens-Boulahia, Telecom Bretagne
Sabrina De Capitani Di Vimercati,  Universita’ degli Studi di Milano
Josep Domingo-Ferrer, Universitat Rovira i Virgili
Eduardo B. Fernandez, Florida Atlantic University
Simone Fischer-Hübner, Karlstad University
Sara Foresti, Universita` degli Studi di Milano
Ehud Gudes, Ben-Gurion University
Ragib Hasan, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Yuan Hong, University at Albany, SUNY
Sushil Jajodia, George Mason University
Sokratis Katsikas, University of Piraeus
Adam J. Lee, University of Pittsburgh
Haibing Lu, Rutgers University
Emil Lupu, Imperial College
Martin Olivier, ICSA, University of Pretoria
Sylvia Osborn, The University of Western Ontaro
Stefano Paraboschi, Universita di Bergamo
Indrajit Ray, Colorado State University
Indrakshi Ray, Colorado State University
Kui Ren, State University of New York at Buffalo
Kouichi Sakurai, Kyushu University
Pierangela Samarati, Universita` degli Studi di Milano
Andreas Schaad, SAP AG
Basit Shafiq, Rutgers University, CIMIC
Heechang Shin, Iona College
Shamik Sural, IIT, Kharagpur
Traian Marius Truta, Northern Kentucky University
Jaideep Vaidya, Rutgers University
Lingyu Wang, Concordia University
Meng Yu, Virginia Commonwealth University
Zutao Zhu, Google Inc.

More information about the Om-announce mailing list