[Om-announce] SCORE 2016 Student Contest: 2nd Call

Carlo Alberto Furia caf at inf.ethz.ch
Mon Aug 24 09:51:07 CEST 2015

[Apologies for multiple postings]

*** SCORE 2016 Student Contest: Second Call for Contributions ***


The Student Contest on Software Engineering (SCORE) is a worldwide
competition for undergraduate and master's level students. It
emphasizes the engineering aspects of software development, not
limited to programming. The fourth edition of the Student Contest on
Software Engineering (SCORE) is part of the 38th International
Conference on Software Engineering (ICSE 2016) and is currently

We encourage you to advertise SCORE 2016 to your students, and to
consider using its project topics in the courses you will teach in the
year 2015!

Between January and November 2015, teams of students can enter SCORE
2016: they select a project topic among those offered, and register
following the instructions at score-contest.org. Their goal is to
undertake a full-fledged software engineering project that adheres to
the chosen topic description and encompasses all aspects of the
engineering process, including planning, requirements, design,
implementation, and testing.  Following the best software engineering
practices, teams document the process and its outcomes using formal
and informal notations, configuration management tools, and
process-specific techniques. They collect all artifacts and
documentation and produce a detailed project report. By the 15 January
2016 deadline, teams submit a 20-page summary report, which gives a
self-contained summary of their project development.  Based on the
summary reports, the SCORE Program Committee selects a number of
semi-finalist teams to submit their complete project reports and
artifacts by the 4 March 2016 deadline. After evaluating the complete
reports and artifacts of semi-finalist teams, the SCORE Program
Committee selects a limited number of finalist teams by the 7 April
2016 deadline, and invites them to present their projects at ICSE 2016
in Austin, TX, USA.  Finally, after presentations at ICSE 2016, the
SCORE Program Committee selects the winning team and presents awards
during the conference.

* Important dates *

30 November 2015: Deadline for team registration.

15 January 2016: Deadline for the submission of summary reports.

7 April 2016: Notification of finalists who will be invited
               to ICSE 2016.

ICSE 2016 (14--22 May 2016): Final evaluation and presentation
                              of the awards.

* Organization *

The SCORE 2016 contest is organized by Jonathan Cook (New Mexico State
University, USA) and Carlo A. Furia (ETH Zurich, Switzerland).

- Nazareno Aguirre, Universidad Nacional de Río Cuarto, Argentina
- Benoit Baudry, INRIA, France
- Alexandre Bergel, University of Chile, Chile
- Domenico Bianculli, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
- Paolo Bonzini, Red Hat, Inc., Italy
- Yuanfang Cai, Drexel University, USA
- Yvonne Coady, University of Victoria, Canada
- Ivica Crnkovic, Mälardalen University, Sweden
- John Georgas, Northern Arizona University, USA
- Jeff Gray, University of Alabama, USA
- Eunkyoung Jee, KAIST, Korea
- Einar Broch Johnsen, University of Oslo, Norway
- Akash Lal, Microsoft Research, India
- Otávio Lemos, Universidade Federal de São Paulo, Brazil
- Timothy Lethbridge, University of Ottawa, Canada
- Jonathan Maletic, Kent State University, USA
- Timothy Menzies, North Carolina State University, USA
- Martin Nordio, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
- Richard Paige, University of York, UK
- Liliana Pasquale, Lero — the Irish Software Engineering Research 
Centre, Ireland
- Michael Pradel, TU Darmstadt, Germany
- Rafael Prikladnicki, PUCRS, Brazil
- Derek Rayside, University of Waterloo, Canada
- Roshanak Roshandel, Seattle University, USA
- Matteo Rossi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
- Kevin Schneider, University of Saskatchewan, Canada
- Elena Sherman, Boise State University, USA
- Paola Spoletini, Kennesaw State University, USA and Universitá 
dell'Insubria, Italy
- Claudia Szabo, University of Adelaide, Australia
- Shingo Takada, Keio University, Japan
- Zhenchang Xing, Nanyang Technological University, China
- Michal Young, University of Oregon, USA

More information about the Om-announce mailing list