Michael Sagraloff msagralo at MPI-INF.MPG.DE
Wed Nov 30 15:07:26 CET 2016


                        ISSAC 2017

 International Symposium on Symbolic and Algebraic Computation
                University of Kaiserslautern, Germany,
                           July 25-28 2017. 

                     SECOND CALL FOR PAPERS



The International Symposium on Symbolic and Algebraic Computation is
the premier conference for research in symbolic computation and
computer algebra. ISSAC 2017 will be the 42nd meeting in the series,
which started in 1966 and has been held annually since 1981. The
conference presents a range of invited speakers, tutorials, poster
sessions, software demonstrations and vendor exhibits with a
centerpiece of contributed research papers.

ISSAC 2017 is held on 25-28 July 2017 at the University of
Kaiserslautern, Germany.  Tutorial Sessions will be held on July 25-th

Important Dates: 

Abstract submission: January, 21 2017
Paper submission: January, 28 2017
Notification of acceptance/rejection: April 6, 2017
Camera-ready copy due: May 2, 2017. 

Invited Speakers

Mark van Hoeij (Florida State University, USA)
Gabriele Nebe (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
James Worrel (University of Oxford, UK)

Submission Instructions

ISSAC 2017 invites the submission of original research contributions
to be considered for publication and presentation at the conference.
Papers should not duplicate work published or submitted for
consideration elsewhere.

Papers must be in English and should not exceed 8 pages in the ACM
sig-alternate.cls style, found at

Submissions in other article styles are also accepted, but the final
version must be at most 8 pages when compiled in sig-alternate.cls
style (equivalent to about 17 pages of letter size paper, typeset in
12pt with normal spacing and reasonably large margins). Extended
abstracts are not allowed. Papers may have an appendix that may be
read by the reviewers and PC members at their discretion, but will
not be included in the published version of the paper. At least one
author of each accepted paper must register for the conference and
present the paper.

Submission is via EasyChair, at the web site


All areas of computer algebra and symbolic mathematical computation
are of interest. These include, but are not limited to:

Algorithmic aspects:

* Exact and symbolic linear, polynomial and differential algebra
* Symbolic-numeric, homotopy, perturbation and series methods
* Computational algebraic geometry, group theory and number theory
* Computer arithmetic
* Summation, recurrence equations, integration, solution of ODEs & PDEs
* Symbolic methods in other areas of pure and applied mathematics
* Complexity of algebraic algorithms and algebraic complexity

Software aspects:

* Design of symbolic computation packages and systems
* Language design and type systems for symbolic computation
* Data representation
* Considerations for modern hardware
* Algorithm implementation and performance tuning
* Mathematical user interfaces

Application aspects:

* Applications that stretch the current limits of computer algebra
 algorithms or systems, use computer algebra in new areas or new
 ways, or apply it in situations with broad impact.

Conference Organization

General Chair: Chee Yap (Courant Institute, New-York University, USA) 
Program Committee Chair: Mohab Safey El Din (University Pierre and Marie Curie, France)
Local Arrangement Chair: Wolfram Decker and Claus Fieker (University of Kaiserslautern, Germany)
Publicity Chair/Webmaster: Michael Sagraloff (MPI for Informatics)

Program Committee

Hirokazu Anai (Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd and Kyushu University, Japan)
Christian Eder (University of Kaiserslautern, Germany)
Ioannis Emiris (National Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece)
Xiao-Shan Gao (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
Mark Giesbrecht (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Jaime Gutierrez (University of Cantabria, Spain)
Anton Leykin (Georgia Tech, USA)
Pierre Lairez (Inria Saclay Ile-de-France, France)
Mioara Joldes (LAAS-CNRS, France)
Gregor Kemper (Technical University of Munich, Germany)
Erich Kaltofen (North Carolina State University, USA)
Christoph Koutschan (RICAM, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria)
Daniel S. Roche (United States Naval Academy, USA)
Mohab Safey El Din (University Pierre and Marie Curie)
Eric Schost (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Vikram Sharma (Institute of Mathematical Sciences, India)
Pierre-Jean Spaenlehauer (Inria Nancy-Grand Est, France)
Adam Strzebonski (Wolfram Research, USA)
Caroline Uhler (Massachussets Institute of Technology, USA)
Lihong Zhi (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

You may leave the ISSAC-ANNOUNCE list at any time by sending a "SIGNOFF ISSAC-ANNOUNCE" command to LISTSERV at LISTSERV.ACM.ORG or by visiting http://listserv.acm.org/archives/ISSAC-ANNOUNCE.html.

More information about the Om-announce mailing list