[Om-announce] AiML 2018: FIRST CALL FOR PAPERS

Thomas Studer tstuder at inf.unibe.ch
Mon Jul 3 14:55:32 CEST 2017

[ Please distribute, apologies for multiple postings. ]
BERN, 27 AUGUST -- 31 AUGUST 2018
Advances in Modal Logic is an initiative aimed at presenting the state of the art in modal logic and its various applications. The initiative consists of a conference series together with volumes based on the conferences. Information about the AiML series can be obtained at
AiML 2018 is the 12th conference in the series.
AiML 2018 will be co-located with the sixth edition of the conference "Logic, Algebra and Truth Degrees" (LATD 2018) http://www.latd2018.unibe.ch/.
We invite submissions on all aspects of modal logic, including:
- history of modal logic
- philosophy of modal logic
- applications of modal logic
- computational aspects of modal logic (complexity and decidability of
    modal and temporal logics, modal and temporal logic programming,
    model checking, model generation, theorem proving for modal logics)
- theoretical aspects of modal logic (topological/algebraic/categorical perspectives
    on modal logic, coalgebraic modal logic, completeness and canonicity,
    correspondence and duality theory, many-dimensional modal logics,
    modal fixed point logics, model theory of modal logic, proof theory
    of modal logic)
- specific instances and variations of modal logic (description logics,
    modal logics over non-boolean bases, dynamic logics and other process
    logics, epistemic and deontic logics, modal logics for agent-based
    systems, modal logic and game theory, modal logic and grammar
    formalisms, provability and interpretability logics, spatial and
    temporal logics, hybrid logic, intuitionistic logic, substructural
    logics, computationally light fragments of all such logics)
Papers on related subjects will also be considered.
There will be two types of submissions for AiML 2018:
(1) Full papers for publication in the proceedings and presentation at the conference.
(2) Short presentations intended for presentation at the conference but not for the published proceedings.
Both types of papers should be submitted electronically using the EasyChair submission page at
At least one author of each accepted paper or short presentation must register for and attend the conference.
Authors are invited to submit, for presentation at the conference and publication in the proceedings, full papers reporting on original research and not submitted elsewhere. The proceedings of AiML 2018 will be published by College Publications
in a volume to be made available at the conference.
The submissions should be at most 15 pages, with an optional technical appendix of up to 5 pages, together with a plain-text abstract of 100-200 words. The submissions must be typeset in LaTeX, using the style files and template that will be provided on the AiML 2018 website
in due time.
Authors must submit an abstract in plain text via EasyChair by the abstract deadline prior to full submission of their paper.
The presentations of accepted full papers will be 30 minutes long.
These should be at most 5 pages. They may describe preliminary results, work in progress etc., and will be subject to light reviewing. The accepted submissions will be made available at the conference, and the authors will have the opportunity to give short presentations (of up to 15 minutes) on them.
Agata Ciabattoni (TU Wien, Austria)
Rob Goldblatt (Victoria University, New Zealand)
Rosalie Iemhoff (Utrecht University, The Netherlands) -- joint AiML-LATD invited speaker
Stanislav Kikot (Birkbeck College London and Institute for Information Transmission Problems, Moscow)
Dana Scott (University of California, Berkeley)
Bettina Choffat
Almudena Colacito
José Gil-Ferez
Eveline Lehmann
George Metcalfe (chair)
Nenad Savić 
Silvia Steila
Thomas Studer (chair)
Natasha Alechina (University of Nottingham)
Lev Beklemishev (Steklov Mathematical Institute of Russian Academy of Sciences in Moscow)
Guram Bezhanishvili (New Mexico State University)
Marta Bílková (Charles University)
Patrick Blackburn (University of Roskilde)
Giovanna D'Agostino (University of Udine)
Stéphane Demri (CNRS, LSV, ENS Paris-Saclay)
David Fernández-Duque (Institute de Recherche en Informatique de Toulouse)
David Gabelaia (TSU Razmadze Mathematical Institute)
Mai Gehrke (CNRS Paris Diderot)
Silvio Ghilardi (Università degli Studi di Milano)
Nina Gierasimczuk (Danish Technical University)
Valentin Goranko (Stockholm University)
Rajeev Goré (The Australian National University)
Helle Hvid Hansen (Delft University of Technology)
Ian Hodkinson (Imperial College)
Wesley Holliday (UC Berkeley)
Emil Jeřábek (Czech Academy of Sciences)
Marcus Kracht (Bielefeld University)
Clemens Kupke (University of Strathclyde)
Agi Kurucz (King's College London)
Roman Kuznets (TU Wien)
Tamar Lando (Columbia University)
Carsten Lutz (Universität Bremen)
Larry Moss (Indiana University)
Sara Negri (University of Helsinki)
Eric Pacuit (University of Maryland)
Valeria de Paiva (Nuance Communications, USA)
Mark Reynolds (The University of Western Australia)
Ilya Shapirovsky (Institute for the Information Transmission Problems)
Valentin Shehtman (Institute for the Information Transmission Problems)
Sonja Smets (Institute of Logic, Language and Computation)
Viorica Sofronie-Stokkermans (Universität Koblenz-Landau)
Thomas Studer (Universität Bern)
Heinrich Wansing (Ruhr University Bochum)
Frank Wolter (University of Liverpool)
Michael Zakharyaschev (Birkbeck College London)
Guram Bezhanishvili (New Mexico State University)
Giovanna D'Agostino (University of Udine)
Abstracts of full papers submission deadline: 11 March 2018
Full papers submission deadline: 18 March 2018
Full papers acceptance notification: 18 May 2018
Short presentations submission deadline: 20 May 2018
Short presentations acceptance notification: 8 June 2018
Final version of full papers and short presentations due: 17 June 2018
Conference: 27 August -- 31 August 2018
Please see http://www.aiml2018.unibe.ch
E-mail enquiries should be directed to the PC chairs, sent to
aiml2018 at easychair.org

More information about the Om-announce mailing list