[Om-announce] 2020 Alonzo Church Award - Call for Nominations

geoff at cs.miami.edu geoff at cs.miami.edu
Sat Jan 25 15:54:17 CET 2020

Subject: 2020 Alonzo Church Award: Call for Nominations


The 2020 Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation


An annual award, called the Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding
Contributions to Logic and Computation, was established in 2015 by the
ACM Special Interest Group for Logic and Computation (SIGLOG), the
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the
European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), and the Kurt
Gödel Society (KGS). The award is for an outstanding contribution
represented by a paper or by a small group of papers published within
the past 25 years. This time span allows the lasting impact and depth
of the contribution to have been established.  The award can be given
to an individual, or to a group of individuals who have collaborated
on the research. For the rules governing this award, see:
https://www.eatcs.org/index.php/church-award/, and https://eacsl.org/.

The 2020 Alonzo Church Award was given jointly to Murdoch J. Gabbay
and Andrew M. Pitts for their ground-breaking work introducing the
theory of nominal representations, see:
http://siglog.org/winners-of-the-2019-alonzo-church-award/.  Previous
awardees are listed at https://www.eatcs.org/index.php/church-award.


The contribution must have appeared in a paper or papers published within
the past 25 years. Thus, for the 2020 award, the cut-off date is January 1,
1995. When a paper has appeared in a conference and then in a journal, the
date of the journal publication will determine the cut-off date. In
addition, the contribution must not yet have received recognition via a
major award, such as the Turing Award, the Kanellakis Award, or the Gödel
Prize. (The nominee(s) may have received such awards for other
contributions.) While the contribution can consist of conference or journal
papers, journal papers will be given a preference.

Nominations for the 2020 award are now being solicited. The nominating
letter must summarize the contribution and make the case that it is
fundamental and outstanding. The nominating letter can have multiple
co-signers. Self-nominations are excluded. Nominations must include: a
proposed citation (up to 25 words); a succinct (100-250 words) description
of the contribution; and a detailed statement (not exceeding four pages) to
justify the nomination. Nominations may also be accompanied by supporting
letters and other evidence of worthiness.

Nominations should be submitted to thomas.eiter at tuwien.ac.at by April 1, 2020.


The 2020 award will be presented at CSL 2021, the annual conference of
the European Association for Computer Science Logic, which is
scheduled to take place in Athens in January 2021. The award will be
accompanied by an invited lecture by the award winner, or by one of
the award winners. The awardee(s) will receive a certificate and a
cash prize of USD 2,000. If there are multiple awardees, this amount
will be shared.


The 2020 Alonzo Church Award Committee consists of the following five members: Mariangiola Dezani, Thomas Eiter (chair), Javier Esparza, Radha Jagadeesan, Natarajan Shankar

More information about the Om-announce mailing list