[Om-announce] 2021 Alonzo Church Award - Call for Nominations Extended

geoff at cs.miami.edu geoff at cs.miami.edu
Thu Mar 4 16:56:47 CET 2021

                   DEADLINE EXTENDED TO APRIL 1


The 2021 Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and 


An annual award, called the Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding
Contributions to Logic and Computation, was established in 2015 by the
ACM Special Interest Group for Logic and Computation (SIGLOG), the
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the
European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), and the Kurt
Gödel Society (KGS). The award is for an outstanding contribution
represented by a paper or by a small group of papers published within
the past 25 years. This time span allows the lasting impact and depth
of the contribution to have been established.  The award can be given
to an individual, or to a group of individuals who have collaborated
on the research. For the rules governing this award, see
https://www.eatcs.org/index.php/church-award/, and https://eacsl.org/.

The 2020 Alonzo Church Award was given jointly to Ronald Fagin,
Phokion G. Kolaitis, Renée J. Miller, Lucian Popa, and Wang Chiew Tan
for their ground-breaking work on laying the logical foundations for
data exchange. Lists containing this and all previous winners can be 
through the links above.


The contribution must have appeared in a paper or papers published 
the past 25 years. Thus, for the 2021 award, the cut-off date is January 
1996. When a paper has appeared in a conference and then in a journal, 
date of the journal publication will determine the cut-off date. In
addition, the contribution must not yet have received recognition via a
major award, such as the Turing Award, the Kanellakis Award, or the 
Prize. (The nominee(s) may have received such awards for other
contributions.) While the contribution can consist of conference or 
papers, journal papers will be given a preference.

Nominations for the 2021 award are now being solicited. The nominating
letter must summarize the contribution and make the case that it is
fundamental and outstanding. The nominating letter can have multiple
co-signers. Self-nominations are excluded. Nominations must include: a
proposed citation (up to 25 words); a succinct (100-250 words) 
of the contribution; and a detailed statement (not exceeding four pages) 
justify the nomination. Nominations may also be accompanied by 
letters and other evidence of worthiness.

Nominations should be submitted to javier.esparza at in.tum.de by APRIL 1, 


The 2021 award will be presented at the ACM SIGLOG/IEEE Symposium on
Logic in Computer Science, LICS 2021, which is scheduled to take place 
in Rome
in June/July 2021. The award will be accompanied by an invited lecture 
by the
award winner, or by one of the award winners. The awardee(s) will 
receive a
certificate and a cash prize of USD 2,000. If there are multiple 
awardees, this
amount will be shared.


The 2021 Alonzo Church Award Committee consists of the following five 
Mariangiola Dezani, Thomas Eiter, Javier Esparza (chair), Radha 
Jagadeesan, and
Igor Walukiewicz.

Prof. Javier Esparza
Faculty of Computer Science
Technical University of Munich
Boltzmannstr. 3, 85748 Garching

More information about the Om-announce mailing list