[Om] [fm-announcements] NFM 2018 - 2nd CFP - Extended Deadlines

Munoz, Cesar (LARC-D320) cesar.a.munoz at nasa.gov
Wed Oct 11 15:11:20 CEST 2017

 NFM 2018 - 2nd Call for Papers


The 10th NASA Formal Methods Symposium
30 Years of Formal Methods at NASA
April 17-19, 2018
Newport News Marriott at City Center
Newport News, VA, USA

Theme of the Symposium

The widespread use and increasing complexity of mission-critical and
safety-critical systems at NASA and in the aerospace industry require advanced
techniques that address these systems' specification, design, verification,
validation, and certification requirements. The NASA Formal Methods Symposium
(NFM) is a forum to foster collaboration between theoreticians and practitioners
from NASA, academia, and industry. NFM's goals are to identify challenges and to
provide solutions for achieving assurance for such critical systems.

New developments and emerging applications like autonomous software for Unmanned
Aerial Systems (UAS), UAS Traffic Management (UTM), advanced separation
assurance algorithms for aircraft, and the need for system-wide fault detection,
diagnosis, and prognostics provide new challenges for system specification,
development, and verification approaches. Similar challenges need to be
addressed during development and deployment of on-board software for both
spacecraft and ground systems.

The focus of the symposium will be on formal techniques and other approaches for
software assurance, including their theory, current capabilities and
limitations, as well as their potential application to aerospace, robotics, and
other NASA-relevant safety-critical systems during all stages of the software

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:
* Formal verification, including theorem proving, model checking, and static analysis
* Advances in automated theorem proving including SAT and SMT solving
* Use of formal methods in software and system testing
* Run-time verification
* Techniques and algorithms for scaling formal methods such as abstraction and
   symbolic methods, compositional techniques, as well as parallel and/or
   distributed techniques
* Code generation from formally verified models
* Safety cases and system safety
* Formal approaches to fault tolerance
* Theoretical advances and empirical evaluations of formal methods techniques
  for safety-critical systems, including hybrid and embedded systems
* Formal methods in systems engineering and model-based development

Submission Details
There are two categories of submissions:

1. Regular papers describing fully developed work and complete results (maximum
   15 pages)

2. Short papers on tools, experience reports, or work in progress with
   preliminary results (maximum 6 pages)

All papers must be in English and describe original work that has not been
published or submitted elsewhere. All submissions will be fully reviewed by at
least three members of the Program Committee.

Papers will appear in a volume of Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science
(LNCS), and must use LNCS style formatting. Papers must be submitted in PDF
format at the EasyChair submission site:


Authors of selected best papers will be invited to submit an extended
version to a special issue in Springer's Innovations in Systems and
Software Engineering: A NASA Journal (http://www.springer.com/computer/swe/journal/11334).

Important Dates
Abstract Submission: December 1, 2017 ** Extended **
Paper Submission: December 11, 2017 ** Extended **
Paper Notification: January 23, 2018            
Camera Ready Deadline: February 6, 2018  
Symposium: April 17-19, 2018

Program Committee
Erika Abraham, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Mauricio Ayala-Rincon, Universidade de Brasilia, Brazil
Julia Badger, NASA, USA
Dirk Beyer, LMU Munich, Germany
Nikolaj Bjorner, Microsoft, USA
Jasmin Christian Blanchette, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Sylvie Boldo, Inria, France
Kalou Cabrera Castillos, LAAS-CNRS, France
Misty Davies, NASA, USA
Catherine Dubois, ENSIIE, France
Stefania Gnesi, ISTI, Italy
Alberto Griggio, FBK, Itlaly
George Hagen, NASA, USA
John Harrison, Intel, USA
Klaus Havelund, JPL/NASA, USA
Ashlie Hocking, Dependable Computing, USA
Susmit Jha, SRI International, USA
Rajeev Joshi, JPL/NASA, USA
Laura Kovacs, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Panagiotis Manolios, Northeastern University, USA
Natasha Neogi, NASA, USA
Lee Pike, USA
Murali Rangarajan, Boeing, USA
Elvinia Riccobene, University of Milan, Italy
Camilo Rocha, Universidad Javeriana de Cali, Colombia
Kristin Yvonne Rozier, Iowa State University, USA
Sriram Sankaranarayanan, University of Colorado Boulder, USA
Johann Schumann, SGT, USA
Konrad Slind, Rockwell Collins, USA
Cesare Tinelli, University of Iowa, USA
Laura Titolo, National Institute of Aerospace, USA
Christoph Torens, DLR, Germany
Michael Whalen, University of Minnesota, USA
Virginie Wiels, ONERA, France

Organizing Committee
Anthony Narkawicz (Conference Chair)
Aaron Dutle (Program Committee Co-Chair)
Cesar Munoz (Program Committee Co-Chair)

The symposium will take place at Newport News Marriott at City Center, Newport News, VA, USA.

Registration is required but is free of charge.

Email: nfm2018 [at] easychair [dot] org
Web: https://shemesh.larc.nasa.gov/NFM2018/

To opt-out from this mailing list, send an email to

fm-announcements-request at lists.nasa.gov

with the word 'unsubscribe' as subject or in the body. You can also make the request by contacting

fm-announcements-owner at lists.nasa.gov 

More information about the Om mailing list