[Om-announce] E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize: 2008 call for submissions

Carlos Areces areces at pluton.loria.fr
Fri Mar 21 15:21:34 CET 2008

E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize: 2008 call for submissions

Since 2002, FoLLI (the European Association for Logic,
Language, and Information, www.folli.org) awards the
E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding
dissertations in the fields of Logic, Language, and
Information. We invite submissions for the best
dissertation which resulted in a Ph.D. degree in the
year 2007. The dissertations will be judged on technical
depth and strength, originality, and impact made in at
least two of the three fields of Logic, Language, and
Computation. Inter-disciplinarity is an important
feature of the theses competing for the E. W. Beth
Dissertation Prize.

Who qualifies
Nominations of candidates are admitted who were awarded
a Ph.D. degree in the areas of Logic, Language, or
Information between January 1st, 2007 and December
31st, 2007. There is no restriction on the nationality
of the candidate or the university where the Ph.D.
was granted. After a careful consideration, FoLLI has
decided to accept only dissertations written in
English. Dissertations produced in 2007 but not written
in English or not translated will be allowed for
submission, after translation, also with the call
next year (for 2008). Respectively, nominations of
full English translations of theses originally
written in other language than English and defended
in 2006 and 2007 will be accepted for consideration
this year, too.  

The prize consists of:  

* a certificate
* a donation of 2500 euros provided by the E. W. Beth
* an invitation to submit the thesis (or a revised
  version of it) to the new series of books in Logic,
  Language and Information to be published by
  Springer-Verlag as part of LNCS or LNCS/LNAI. (Further
  information on this series is available on the FoLLI site)

How to submit
Only electronic submissions are accepted. The following
documents are required:

1. the thesis in pdf or ps format (doc/rtf not accepted);
2. a ten page abstract of the dissertation in ascii or pdf format;
3. a letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor.
   Self-nominations are not admitted: each nomination must
   be sponsored by the thesis supervisor. The letter of
   nomination should concisely describe the scope and
   significance of the dissertation and state when the
   degree was officially awarded;
4. two additional letters of support, including at least one
   letter from a referee not affiliated with the academic
   institution that awarded the Ph.D. degree.

All documents must be submitted electronically to
bethaward2008 at gmail.com. Hard copy submissions are not

In case of any problems with the email submission or a lack
of notification within three working days after submission,
nominators should write to goranko at maths.wits.ac.za or
policriti at dimi.uniud.it.

Important dates
Deadline for Submissions: April 30th, 2008.
Notification of Decision: July 15th, 2008.

Committee :

* Anne Abeillé (Université Paris 7)
* Natasha Alechina (University of Nottingham)
* Didier Caucal (IGM-CNRS)
* Nissim Francez (The Technion, Haifa)
* Valentin Goranko  (chair) (University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg)
* Alexander Koller (University of Edinburgh)
* Alessandro Lenci (University of Pisa)
* Gerald Penn (University of Toronto)
* Alberto Policriti (Università di Udine)
* Rob van der Sandt (University of Nijmegen)
* Colin Stirling (University of Edinburgh)

More information about the Om-announce mailing list