[Om-announce] RV'10 Final CFP - DEADLINE: June 1st

RV 2010 publicity at rv2010.org
Sat May 8 17:03:04 CEST 2010

[[Our apologies if you receive multiple copies of this message]]


 International Conference on Runtime Verification (RV 2010)
 November 1 - 4, 2010
 Sliema, Malta
 DEADLINES: June 1st for regular and short papers; June 15 for tool demos


Runtime verification (RV) is concerned with monitoring and analysis of
software or hardware system executions. The field is often referred to
under different names, such as runtime verification, runtime monitoring,
runtime checking, runtime reflection, runtime analysis, dynamic
analysis, symbolic dynamic analysis, trace analysis, log file analysis,
etc. RV can be used for many purposes, such as program understanding,
systems usage understanding, security or safety policy monitoring,
debugging, testing, verification and validation, fault protection,
behavior modification (e.g., recovery), etc. A running system can be
abstractly regarded as a generator of execution traces, i.e., sequences
of relevant states or events. Traces can be processed in various ways,
e.g., checked against formalized specifications, analyzed with special
algorithms, visualized, etc. Topics of interest include, but are not
limited to: 

- program instrumentation techniques
- specification languages for writing monitors
- extraction of monitors from specifications; APIs for writing monitors
- programming language constructs for monitoring
- model-based monitoring and reconfiguration
- the use of aspect oriented programming for dynamic analysis
- algorithmic solutions to minimize runtime monitoring impact
- combination of static and dynamic analysis; full program verification
 based on runtime verification
- intrusion detection, security policies, policy enforcement
- log file analysis
- model-based test oracles
- observation-based debugging techniques
- fault detection and recovery, model-based integrated health management
 and diagnosis
- program steering and adaptation
- dynamic concurrency analysis
- dynamic specification mining
- metrics and statistical information gathered during runtime
- program execution visualization

The RV series of events started in 2001, as an annual workshop. The
RV'01 to RV'05 proceedings were published in ENTCS. Since 2006, the RV
proceedings have been published in LNCS. Starting with year 2010, RV is
an international conference. Links to past RV events can be found at
the permanent URL http://runtime-verification.org.


* Mike Barnett, Microsoft Research, USA
* Rance Cleaveland, University of Maryland, USA
* Matthew Dwyer, University of Nebraska, USA
* Martin Odersky, EPFL, Switzerland
* Wim de Pauw, IBM, USA
* R. Sekar, Stony Brook University, USA

Invited talk titles are available on the RV 2010 web page.


RV will have two research paper categories: regular and short papers.
Papers in both categories will be reviewed by the conference Program

- Regular papers (up to 15 pages) should present original unpublished
 results. Applications of runtime verification are particularly
 welcome. A Best Paper Award (300 Euro) will be offered. Selected
 papers will be published in an issue of Formal Methods in System

- Short papers (up to 5 pages) may present novel but not necessarily
 thoroughly worked out ideas, for example emerging runtime verification
 techniques and applications, or techniques and applications that
 establish relationships between runtime verification and other
 domains. Accepted short papers will be presented in special short
 talk (5-10 minutes) and poster sessions.

In addition to short and regular papers, proposals for tool
demonstrations are welcome. Proposals should be up to 2 pages
long. Tool demonstration proposals should briefly introduce the
problem solved by the tool and give the outline of the
demonstration. Tool papers will be allocated 5 pages in the
conference proceedings. A Best Tool Award (200 Euro) will be offered.
Submitted tool demonstration proposals will be evaluated
by the corresponding chair, with the help of selected reviewers.

All accepted papers, including the tool papers, will appear in
the LNCS proceedings. Submitted papers must use the LNCS style. At
least one author of each accepted paper must attend RV'10 to present the
paper. Papers must be submitted electronically using the EasyChair
system. A link to the electronic submission page is available on the
RV'10 web page.


June 1, 2010 - Submission of regular and short papers 
June 15, 2010 - Submission of tool demonstration proposals 
July 13, 2010 - Notification for regular, short, and tool papers
August 17, 2010 - Camera-ready versions of accepted papers are due 


General chairs:
Howard Barringer (University of Manchester, UK)
Klaus Havelund (NASA JPL, USA)
Insup Lee (University of Pennsylvania, USA)

Programme committee chairs:
Grigore Rosu (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
Oleg Sokolsky (University of Pennsylvania, USA)

Local organization chair:
Gordon Pace (University of Malta, MT)

Tutorials chair: (submission of tutorials closed)
Bernd Finkbeiner (Saarland University, DE)

Tool demonstrations chair:
Nikolai Tillmann (Microsoft Research, USA)

Publicity chair:
Ylies Falcone (INRIA Rennes, FR)


Jamie Andrews (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
Thomas Ball (Microsoft Research Redmond, USA)
Saddek Bensalem (Verimag, France)
Eric Bodden (Technical University Darmstadt, Germany)
Rance Cleaveland (University of Maryland, USA)
Mads Dam (KTH, SE)
Matthew Dwyer (University of Nebraska, USA)
Bernd Finkbeiner (Saarland University, Germany)
Cormac Flanagan (University of California at Santa Cruz, USA)
Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Cachan, France)
Patrice Godefroid (Microsoft Research Redmond, USA)
Susanne Graf (Verimag, France)
Radu Grosu (State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA)
Lars Grunske (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
Rajiv Gupta (University of California at Riverside, USA)
John Hatcliff (Kansas State University, USA)
Mats Heimdahl (University of Minnesota, USA)
Sarfraz Khurshid (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
Kim Larsen (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Martin Leucker (Technical University Muenchen, Germany)
Paul Miner (NASA Langley, USA)
Brian Nielsen (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Klaus Ostermann (University of Marburg, Germany)
Corina Pasareanu (NASA Ames, USA)
Doron Peled (Bar Ilan University, Israel)
Martin Rinard (Massachussets Institute of Technology, USA)
Greg Morrisett (Harvard University, USA)
Wolfram Schulte (Microsoft Research Redmond, USA)
Koushik Sen (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
Peter Sestoft (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
Scott Smolka (State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA)
Serdar Tasiran (Koc University, Turkey)
Willem Visser (University of Stellenbosch, South Africa)
Mahesh Viswanathan (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) 
Brian Williams (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)

More information about the Om-announce mailing list