[Om-announce] 2021 Alonzo Church Award - Call for Nominations

geoff at cs.miami.edu geoff at cs.miami.edu
Sat Jan 9 17:35:57 CET 2021


The 2021 Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and


An annual award, called the Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions 
to Logic and Computation, was established in 2015 by the ACM Special Interest 
Group for Logic and Computation (SIGLOG), the European Association for 
Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the European Association for Computer 
Science Logic (EACSL), and the Kurt G\303\266del Society (KGS). The award is 
for an outstanding contribution represented by a paper or by a small group of 
papers published within the past 25 years. This time span allows the lasting 
impact and depth of the contribution to have been established. The award can 
be given to an individual, or to a group of individuals who have collaborated
on the research. For the rules governing this award, see 
    https://www.eatcs.org/index.php/church-award/, and https://eacsl.org/

The 2020 Alonzo Church Award was given jointly to Ronald Fagin, Phokion G. 
Kolaitis, Renne J. Miller, Lucian Popa, and Wang Chiew Tan, for their ground-
breaking work on laying the logical foundations for data exchange. Lists 
containing this and all previous winners can be found through the links above.


The contribution must have appeared in a paper or papers published within the 
past 25 years. Thus, for the 2021 award, the cut-off date is January 1, 1996. 
When a paper has appeared in a conference and then in a journal, the date of 
the journal publication will determine the cut-off date. In addition, the 
contribution must not yet have received recognition via a major award, such as 
the Turing Award, the Kanellakis Award, or the Goedel Prize. (The nominee(s) 
may have received such awards for other contributions.) While the contribution 
can consist of conference or journal papers, journal papers will be given a 

Nominations for the 2021 award are now being solicited. The nominating letter 
must summarize the contribution and make the case that it is fundamental and 
outstanding. The nominating letter can have multiple co-signers. Self-
nominations are excluded. Nominations must include: a proposed citation (up 
to 25 words); a succinct (100-250 words) description of the contribution; and 
a detailed statement (not exceeding four pages) to justify the nomination. 
Nominations may also be accompanied by supporting letters and other evidence 
of worthiness.

Nominations should be submitted to javier.esparza at in.tum.de by March 1, 2021.


The 2021 award will be presented at the ACM SIGLOG/IEEE Symposium on Logic in 
Computer Science, LICS 2021, which is scheduled to take place in Rome in June/
July 2021. The award will be accompanied by an invited lecture by the award 
winner, or by one of the award winners. The awardee(s) will receive a 
certificate and a cash prize of USD 2,000. If there are multiple awardees,
this amount will be shared.


The 2021 Alonzo Church Award Committee consists of the following five members:
Mariangiola Dezani, Thomas Eiter, Javier Esparza (chair), Radha Jagadeesan,
and Igor Walukiewicz.

More information about the Om-announce mailing list