[Om-announce] NFM 2023: Deadline extension & final CFP

Rozier, Kristin-Yvonne [AER E] kyrozier at iastate.edu
Sat Dec 10 04:34:48 CET 2022

Due to numerous requests, we have extended the submission deadline.

      The Fifteenth NASA Formal Methods Symposium


                    16 - 18 May 2023
University of Houston Clear Lake, Houston, Texas, USA

Theme of the Symposium:
The widespread use and increasing complexity of mission-critical and 
safety-critical systems at NASA and in the aerospace industry require 
advanced techniques that address these systems' specification, design, 
verification, validation, and certification requirements. The NASA 
Formal Methods Symposium (NFM) is an annual forum to foster 
collaboration between theoreticians and practitioners from NASA, 
academia, and industry. NFM's goals are to identify challenges and to 
provide solutions for achieving assurance for such critical systems.

New developments and emerging applications like autonomous software for 
uncrewed deep space human habitats, caretaker robotics, Unmanned Aerial 
Systems (UAS), UAS Traffic Management (UTM), and the need for 
system-wide fault detection, diagnosis, and prognostics provide new 
challenges for system specification, development, and verification 
approaches. The focus of these symposiums are on formal techniques and 
other approaches for software assurance, including their theory, current 
capabilities and limitations, as well as their potential application to 
aerospace, robotics, and other NASA-relevant safety-critical systems 
during all stages of the software life-cycle.

Topics of Interest:
We encourage submissions on cross-cutting approaches that bring together 
formal methods and techniques from other domains such as probabilistic 
reasoning, machine learning, control theory, robotics, and quantum 
computing among others.
     * Formal verification, including theorem proving, model checking, 
and static analysis
     * Advances in automated theorem proving including SAT and SMT solving
     * Use of formal methods in software and system testing
     * Run-time verification
     * Techniques and algorithms for scaling formal methods, such as 
abstraction and symbolic methods, compositional techniques, as well as 
parallel and/or distributed techniques
     * Code generation from formally verified models
     * Safety cases and system safety
     * Formal approaches to fault tolerance
     * Theoretical advances and empirical evaluations of formal methods 
techniques for safety-critical systems, including hybrid and embedded 
     * Formal methods in systems engineering and model-based development
     * Correct-by-design controller synthesis
     * Formal assurance methods to handle adaptive systems

Important Dates:
Abstract Submission:  6 Jan 2023 (firm)
Paper Submission:     6 Jan 2023 (firm)
Paper Notifications:  6 Mar 2023
Camera-ready Papers: 27 Mar 2023
Symposium:        16-18 May 2023

Location & Cost:
The symposium will take place in the STEM Building at University of 
Houston Clear Lake, Houston, Texas, USA, 16-18 May 2023.

There will be no registration fee for participants. All interested 
individuals, including non-US citizens, are welcome to attend, to listen 
to the talks, and to participate in discussions; however, all attendees 
must register.

Submission Details:
There are two categories of submissions:

    1. Regular papers describing fully developed work and complete 
results (15 pages + references)
    2. Two categories of short papers: (6 pages + references)
    (a) Tool Papers describing novel, publicly-available tools
    (b) Case Studies detailing complete applications of formal methods 
to real systems with publicly-available artifacts

All papers should be in English and describe original work that has not 
been published or submitted elsewhere. All submissions will be fully 
reviewed by members of the Programme Committee. Papers will appear in 
the Formal Methods subline of Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer 
Science (LNCS) and must use LNCS style formatting 
Papers must be submitted in PDF format at the EasyChair submission site:


Keynote Speakers:
Julia Badger, NASA Johnson Space Center
Ken McMillan, UT Austin
Sanjit Seshia, UC Berkeley

Swarat Chaudhuri (UT Austin)
Jim Dabney (University of Houston Clear Lake/NASA JSC)
Kristin Yvonne Rozier (Iowa State University/NASA JSC)

Programme Committee:
Julia Badger, NASA Johnson Space Center
Stanley Bak, Stony Brook University
Suguman Bansal, University of Pennsylvania
Dirk Beyer, LMU Munich
Nikolaj Bjørner, Microsoft Research
Sylvie Boldo, Inria and Université Paris-Saclay
Georgiana Caltais, University of Twente
Swarat Chaudhuri, UT Austin
Darren Cofer, Rockwell Collins
Jennifer Davis, Collins Aerospace
Ewen Denney, NASA Ames Research Center
Catherine Dubois, ENSIIE-Samovar
Rohit Dureja, IBM Corporation
Alexandre Duret-Lutz, LRDE/EPITA
Bruno Dutertre, Amazon
Aaron Dutle, NASA Langley Research Center
Souradeep Dutta, University of Pennsylvania
Rüdiger Ehlers, Clausthal University of Technology
Chuchu Fan, MIT
Marie Farrell, The University of Manchester
Bernd Finkbeiner, CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security
Alwyn Goodloe, NASA Langley Research Center
Arie Gurfinkel, University of Waterloo
Klaus Havelund, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Constance Heitmeyer, Naval Research Laboratory
Marijn Heule, Carnegie Mellon University
Kerianne Hobbs, Air Force Research Laboratory
Bardh Hoxha, Toyota Research Institute North America
Susmit Jha, SRI International
Rajeev Joshi, Amazon Web Services
Panagiotis Manolios, Northeastern University
Anastasia Mavridou, SGT Inc. / NASA Ames Research Center
Stefan Mitsch, Carnegie Mellon University
Cesar Munoz, Amazon
Natasha Neogi, NASA Langley Research Center
Corina Pasareanu, CMU NASA, KBR
Ivan Perez, KBR / NASA Ames Research Center
Zvonimir Rakamaric, University of Utah
Giles Reger, Amazon Web Services and The University of Manchester
Kristin Yvonne Rozier, Iowa State University
Johann Schumann, NASA Ames Research Center
Cristina Seceleanu, Mälardalen University
Yasser Shoukry, University of California Irvine
Laura Titolo, National Institute of Aerospace
Oksana Tkachuk, Amazon Web Services
Aaron Tomb, Amazon
Stefano Tonetta, FBK
Nestan Tsiskaridze, Stanford University
Caterina Urban, INRIA
Cristian-Ioan Vasile, Lehigh University
Virginie Wiels, ONERA / DTIS
Huan Xu, University of Maryland
Huafeng Yu, Boeing Research & Technology USA

            /\                       \ \_____
           /  \                   ###[==_____>
          /    \                     /_/      __
         /  __  \                             \ \_____
         | (  ) |                          ###[==_____>
        /| /\/\ |\                            /_/
       / | |  | | \
      /  |=|==|=|  \       Kristin Yvonne Rozier, Ph.D.
    /    | |  | |    \   Black&Veatch Associate Prof, Iowa State Univ
   / USA | ~||~ |NASA \
  |______|  ~~  |______|   Fall, 2022: at Carnegie Mellon
         (__||__)          Office: GHC 7211
         /_\  /_\
         !!!  !!!          laboratory.temporallogic.org

More information about the Om-announce mailing list