[Om] RV 2010 - 1st Int. Conference: Call for Papers and Tutorials

RV 2010 chairs at rv2010.org
Thu Jan 21 19:50:11 CET 2010


       International Conference on Runtime Verification (RV 2010)
                       November 1 - 4, 2010
                           Sliema, Malta


Runtime  verification (RV)  is concerned with monitoring and analysis of
software  or hardware system executions.  The field is often referred to
under different names, such as runtime verification, runtime monitoring,
runtime  checking,   runtime  reflection,   runtime  analysis,   dynamic
analysis,  symbolic dynamic analysis, trace analysis, log file analysis,
etc.  RV can be used for many  purposes,  such as program understanding,
systems  usage  understanding,  security  or  safety  policy monitoring,
debugging,  testing,  verification  and  validation,  fault  protection,
behavior  modification (e.g.,  recovery),  etc.  A running system can be
abstractly regarded as a generator of execution traces,  i.e., sequences
of relevant  states or events.  Traces can be processed in various ways,
e.g.,  checked  against formalized specifications, analyzed with special
algorithms,  visualized,  etc.  Topics  of interest include, but are not
limited to: 

- program instrumentation techniques
- specification languages for writing monitors
- extraction of monitors from specifications;  APIs for writing monitors
- programming language constructs for monitoring
- model-based monitoring and reconfiguration
- the use of aspect oriented programming for dynamic analysis
- algorithmic solutions to minimize runtime monitoring impact
- combination of static and dynamic analysis;  full program verification
  based on runtime verification
- intrusion detection, security policies, policy enforcement
- log file analysis
- model-based test oracles
- observation-based debugging techniques
- fault detection and recovery, model-based integrated health management
  and diagnosis
- program steering and adaptation
- dynamic concurrency analysis
- dynamic specification mining
- metrics and statistical information gathered during runtime
- program execution visualization

The  RV  series  of events started in 2001,  as an annual workshop.  The
RV'01 to RV'05 proceedings were published in ENTCS.  Since 2006,  the RV
proceedings have been published in LNCS.  Starting with year 2010, RV is
an  international  conference.  Links  to past RV events can be found at
the permanent URL http://runtime-verification.org.


RV  will  have two research paper categories:  regular and short papers.
Papers  in  both  categories  will be reviewed by the conference Program

- Regular  papers  (up to 15 pages)  should present original unpublished
  results.   Applications  of  runtime   verification  are  particularly
  welcome.  A Best  Paper  Award  (300 Euro)  will be offered.  Selected
  papers  will  be  published  in  an  issue of Formal Methods in System

- Short  papers  (up to 5 pages)  may  present novel but not necessarily
  thoroughly worked out ideas, for example emerging runtime verification
  techniques  and  applications,  or  techniques  and  applications that
  establish   relationships   between  runtime  verification  and  other
  domains.  Accepted  short  papers  will  be presented in special short
  talk (5-10 minutes) and poster sessions.

In  addition  to  short and regular papers,  proposals for tutorials and
tool  demonstrations  are  welcome.  Proposals  should  be up to 2 pages

- Tutorial proposals on any of the topics above, as well as on topics at
  the  boundary  between  RV  and other domains,  are welcome.  Accepted
  tutorials  will  be  allocated  up  to  15  pages  in  the  conference
  proceedings.  Tutorial presentations will be at least 2 hours.

- Tool  demonstration  proposals  should  briefly  introduce the problem
  solved  by  the  tool and give the outline of the demonstration.  Tool
  papers will be allocated 5 pages in the conference proceedings. A Best
  Tool Award (200 Euro) will be offered.

Submitted tutorial and tool demonstration proposals will be evaluated by
the corresponding chairs, with the help of selected reviewers.

All accepted papers,  including tutorial and tool papers, will appear in
the  LNCS  proceedings.  Submitted  papers  must use the LNCS style.  At
least one author of each accepted paper must attend RV'10 to present the
paper.  Papers  must  be  submitted  electronically  using the EasyChair
system.  A link  to  the  electronic submission page is available on the
RV'10 web page.


May 1, 2010 - Submission of tutorial proposals
May 15, 2010 - Notification for tutorial proposals
June 1, 2010 - Submission of regular and short papers 
June 15, 2010 - Submission of tool demonstration proposals 
July 13, 2010 - Notification for regular, short, and tool papers
August 17, 2010 - Camera-ready versions of accepted papers are due  


General chairs:
Howard Barringer (University of Manchester, UK)
Klaus Havelund (NASA JPL, USA)
Insup Lee (University of Pennsylvania, USA)

Programme committee chairs:
Grigore Rosu (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
Oleg Sokolsky (University of Pennsylvania, USA)

Local organization chair:
Gordon Pace (University of Malta, MT)

Tutorials chair:
Bernd Finkbeiner (Saarland University, DE)

Tool demonstrations chair:
Nikolai Tillmann (Microsoft Research, USA)

Publicity chair:
Ylies Falcone (INRIA Rennes, FR)


Jamie Andrews (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
Thomas Ball (Microsoft Research Redmond, USA)
Saddek Bensalem (Verimag, France)
Eric Bodden (Technical University Darmstadt, Germany)
Rance Cleaveland (University of Maryland, USA)
Mads Dam (KTH, SE)
Matthew Dwyer (University of Nebraska, USA)
Bernd Finkbeiner (Saarland University, Germany)
Cormac Flanagan (University of California at Santa Cruz, USA)
Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Cachan, France)
Patrice Godefroid (Microsoft Research Redmond, USA)
Susanne Graf (Verimag, France)
Radu Grosu (State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA)
Lars Grunske (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
Rajiv Gupta (University of California at Riverside, USA)
John Hatcliff (Kansas State University, USA)
Mats Heimdahl (University of Minnesota, USA)
Sarfraz Khurshid (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
Kim Larsen (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Martin Leucker (Technical University Muenchen, Germany)
Paul Miner (NASA Langley, USA)
Brian Nielsen (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Klaus Ostermann (University of Marburg, Germany)
Corina Pasareanu (NASA Ames, USA)
Doron Peled (Bar Ilan University, Israel)
Martin Rinard (Massachussets Institute of Technology, USA)
Greg Morrisett (Harvard University, USA)
Wolfram Schulte Microsoft Research Redmond, USA)
Koushik Sen (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
Peter Sestoft (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
Scott Smolka (State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA)
Serdar Tasiran (Koc University, Turkey)
Shmuel Ur (IBM Haifa Research Laboratory, Israel)
Willem Visser (University of Stellenbosch, South Africa)
Mahesh Viswanathan (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) 
Brian Williams (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)

More information about the Om mailing list